Veg Cookbook Club- Week 2 of Crazy Sexy Kitchen

28 Jan

coffee

Coffee is not related to this post but I know I am going to need some tomorrow. I have been off work for a week and I am feeling the Sunday blues about going back. On the plus side, I get to see my sisters tomorrow (they have been out of town for over a week) when we get together to watch the Bachelor. I won’t get into how ridiculous that show is, but it is good for a laugh. Watching it with my sisters is a good excuse to get together and make a delicious vegan dinner. This week will be extra fun because they are bringing me treats from one of my favourite vegan bakeries- Babycakes NYC! I will use the thought of vegan donuts to get me through Monday.

Now for the reason for this post, the recipes I made from Crazy Sexy Kitchen this week. I tried out 4 recipes, 2 of which were smoothies because it was a smoothie kind of week.

aztec aztec 2

The first I made was the Aztec Spirit. This is probably not something that I would make again. I did like that there was coffee in it, but I am not a fan of cacao powder. I find it a bit too strong. I think it would have been a bit better with some bananas or another fruit to give it a bit more substance, but all in all it wasn’t too bad.

crazysexysmoothie crazysexysmoothie4

The other smoothie I made was the Crazy Sexy Goddess Smoothie which I really liked. I used homemade almond butter rather than avocado because I am completely addicted to nut butters. I liked that this smoothie called for water and not almond milk to make it super healthy. I made it after I ran my first 5k this weekend, and I’ve got to say I felt like an Olympic champion- ready to take on the world!

eggsalad

Moving away from my precious Vitamix, I made the Curried Nada- Egg with Watercress Wraps. I chose this recipe because I seemed to have all the ingredients at home already. Normally I wouldn’t make anything that is ‘mock egg’ because I never liked eggs, even before I was vegan. I would eat baking or other things that included them, but I would never sit down to have one poached, scrambled or fried. Something about eggs just says ‘you should not be eating me’! So I made the Nada- Egg wraps (using a whole wheat pita instead of a tortilla), and I must say they were very egg-y. I think anyone who is, or used to be an egg salad fan would enjoy this recipe. I would make it again if I was going to a get together with carnivores in attendance (possible my grandma), to show them the versatility of the all- mighty tofu.

 eggsalad3

Lastly I made the Cauliflower Risotto, which will be my contribution to ‘Bachelor night’ tomorrow.It took a few more steps than I am used to (my go to dinner is carrot sticks and a bowl of kale), but I like the way that it turned out. In the book it says to use 1 cup of the cauliflower puree but does not mention that you will end up with quite a bit more than that. I added all of my puree to the chopped and minced cauliflower (about 3 cups), so it may be a bit more soup- like than it is supposed to be, but the taste is still nice.

cauli   cauli3

cauli4  cauli2

From the looks of the poll on the Veg Cookbook Club site, the February cookbook of the month will be Color Me Vegan by Colleen Patrick- Goudreau. I don’t have this one yet so I will have to pick it up. I love Colleen so I expect lots of great recipes!

I hope you are enjoying the last sweet hours of the weekend, and if you have the same guilty pleasure as me- enjoy The Bachelor tomorrow!

~Stephanie

2 Responses to “Veg Cookbook Club- Week 2 of Crazy Sexy Kitchen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Aztec Spirit, Sexy Goddess Smoothie, Cauliflower Risotto and Nada- Egg Watercress Wraps « Give a Chuck - January 28, 2013

    [...] http://giveachuck.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/veg-cookbook-club-week-2-of-crazy-sexy-kitchen/ [...]

  2. Mango and Coconut Quinoa + Tofu Country Scramble | VegCookBook Club - January 29, 2013

    [...] Stephanie of Give a Chuck made the Aztec Spirit, the Crazy Sexy Goddess Smoothie, the Curried Nada- Egg with Watercress Wraps and the C…. [...]

Leave a Reply

rialiveswell

Live. Cherish. Enjoy.

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

the cozy vegan

compassionate food and lifestyle blog

Fig and Basil

A plant-based journal through food and photography

Sodapop's Sweet Vegan

Vegan baking & vegan eating in Melbourne

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

VegCookBook Club

Cooking Our Way Through Vegetarian and Vegan Cookbooks Together

Birds Calgary

A birding blog for Calgary, Alberta and area

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

